Completed Projects, Crochet, Games

Golden Snood Finished!

It’s Done and it’s Stylin’!

I finished the golden snood and I think it used about a third to a half of an RHSS skein. Sorry Turqua but I think I have a new favorite snood!

I have a tiny amount of RHSS Gold left now; the skein, when balled up, fits in my hand!

So I’m not entirely sure how one is supposed to put on a snood, but this is how I do it:

  1. Pull the snood onto your head like a beanie.
  2. Stuff the hair on the back of your head into the back of the snood. For long hair, I find it easier to hold it like I’m going to tie a pony tail, fold the tail part in half, and then stuff the entire tail into the back of the snood.
  3. Scoot the snood back on your head like it’s a hairband.
  4. Move around the snood/hair so its not lumpy.

That’s all there is to it!

The pattern on the snood is spellbinding. If it were multi-color, I’d have to call it a Kaleidoscope Snood!



img_20180803_022135
Before adding the drawstring
img_20180803_0340271
After adding the drawstring
img_20180803_052200
Fits perfectly!


Afterthoughts:

In the spots where there are cluster stitches, I went with two treble crochets instead of the written four. The certainly has the right lacy qualities but I lost some of the line variations. Some parts are supposed to look wider than others to form the outline of a flower. If I use this pattern again, I try using a smaller hook or trying three treble crochets for the cluster stitches. I also might try a variegated yarn for the aforementioned kaleidoscope look.


What Now?

I’m queuing up some patterns to start writing. Check back often. I might have a pattern up my sleeve!

I’m also thinking about making something else. Got suggestions? Comment below!


What Else?

Learning: JavaScript from Codecademy; some day I want to make little games for fun

Watching: Northernlion’s playthrough of RimWorld and Quill18’s playthrough of Prison Architect 2.0

Playing: Nothing right now but I frequently feel the pull of Everquest emulators

This weekend (3-5 Aug) is the Sales Tax Holiday in Florida, so I might have to do some shopping!

See ya on Monday,

– Corgi

Leave a comment