Games, Uncategorized

Engagement Ring and Food

Happy November! Hope y’all had a good Halloween and bought lots of discount candy/chocolate. I couldn’t get my hands on any since all the candy and chocolate disappears at midnight here. It doesn’t go on sale. It just gets removed from the shelves and replaced by Christmas goodies.

The Cat and I spent Halloween staying up late watching the first two seasons of Channel Zero on VRV. We thought it was pretty good and spooky with rich atmosphere and minimal jump scares. Personally, I preferred it to American Horror Story which has a lot of arguing amongst characters and rather weak character development.

I never thought I’d see the day that Creepypastas would become an official TV show, much less a well-made one. I hope they make more! Or perhaps they’ll turn SCP into a TV show. I’m interested in the subject enough that I’d even watch a mockumentary of how the SCP Foundation worked.

Some other interesting things we’ve been watching:

Engagement Ring

The Cat and I got me an engagement ring! I used to have a silver-looking one but the finish came off and I was allergic to the metal so I went ring-less for a while. I still have the ring resting on my computer monitor stand. It’s a bit dusty and rather brass-looking now but it’s got memories attached to it. I smile whenever I see it.

I think I’m allergic to most metals except ones like stainless steel and titanium. I’ve even been allergic to my glasses frame before; not very pleasant. I chose a silicone ring because it was my favorite color and I knew I wouldn’t be allergic to it.

Food

The Cat baked two round red velvet sheet cakes and we frosted them with cream cheese frosting. I’ve never frosted a stacked sheet cake before but it was fun and the end product was tasty. I’d definitely try it again.

We also made a large pot — I think about 4-5 cups — of Italian sausage bolognese. It always smells wonderful simmering away in the pot. We use the second step of Nick Stellino’s “Baked Pasta with Sausages” recipe, cool the sauce down, refrigerate it overnight, and eat it over a couple of days with freshly boiled pasta. It reheats beautifully over a low heat.

Another item on our menu this week was thit kho, also known as Vietnamese caramelized pork. The Cat started it off with sugar cooked to a caramel color, then he added thick chunks of pork butt, some water, a spoonful of fish sauce, minced garlic, and sliced onion. Braised over low heat until cooked through and tender. We then took that meat and put it on soft taco-sized tortillas with pickled carrots, cilantro, and sour cream. Sweet, savory, velvety. For me, it’s a childhood treat my father would make but he would up the sugar; it was like eating candied pork.

We used this ga kho (caramelized chicken) recipe but added about 30-60 minutes of braising time to break the pork down, and this Đồ Chua (pickled carrot and daikon) recipe minus the daikon. If you don’t like a very slight fishy flavor, you can skip the fish sauce. It’s mostly to create an umami flavor.

Happy eats,

-Corgi

Leave a comment